Home » In-Home Dog Training » Client Testimonials

Client Testimonials

default image

I would recommend Gerard to anybody with a problematic dog. We have an Australian Shepherd that was unpredictable, snappy, fearful, and generally anxious. This training was well worth the money, and we can now enjoy ourselves with our dog without constantly worrying about him getting out of control in social situations. Thank you!!!

G+G and Bricey (not “Beastly” anymore!) - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Bindi is doing great. We all enjoyed the training and are so excited and relieved. We ran her through a few more “come” commands and even when she had her babies, she paid attention. A few times I had to advance toward her, immediately she was submissive and came to me. I just can’t wait to see how this will change our family … it already has

Kathy R. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

My husband and I moved to Tucson from New Mexico. We contacted called Gerard soon after we moved here to help us with our 2 Scottish Terriers, and he responded very promptly. Scottish Terriers are very independent and these two were not very well socialized with other dogs. Our male was refused admission to a doggie daycare. Gerard was very patient and determined with me and them. I can now take them both on a walk together and they both will walk beside me. We have worked at dog parks and my female is no longer aggressive with other dogs and my male is much more in control of himself. If he can’t control himself, then I have good tools to use to get him under control. Gerard is very good at taking the dog’s breed into consideration when working with them. He showed me how to help our male dog, who is not confident to not act aggressive and to correct him in a gentle way. My husband and I both are very happy with how the dogs have progressed. They are a pleasure to live with and well behaved. Our female will soon test to become a therapy dog.

Sue and Steve S. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I have a 7 year old rescued dog, Boomer, who had some fearful nipping behavior which started to escalate. I moved from Guam to Tucson, AZ with 4 rescued dogs and a cat and although Boomer is the biggest of the pack, he is the most insecure and fearful. I contacted Gerard and he came to my house to meet Boomer and the pack. With Gerard’s patience and firm, but assertive way of training both me and the dog, I could see a marked change in Boomer’s behavior when walking on a leash as I don’t get pulled into the cacti. We are still working and meeting Gerard as needed, but every time I can see a difference in Boomer and we seem to understand each other better. Gerard’s techniques are wonderful and I will recommend him to all families with dogs with “issues.”

Noni D. - Vail July 25, 2015

default image

Please, visit my FaceBook Reviews. Thank you, Gerard

Facebook Reviews

Gerard Raneri Owner Tucson, AZ June 26, 2017

We have three Australian Shepherds (1 is 14 months, 2 are 12 months old) that were out of control.

My husband and I would say “they make you laugh but at the same time you want to cry”. I finally said enough and started looking for dog trainers on the internet. I came across the Dog Training Mobile site and liked what I read about Gerard. I also like the fact that he came to your house and worked with the dogs in their environment. I contacted Gerard and made our first appointment. Now the only thing I had to do was tell my husband I had hired a dog trainer.

Before our first appointment my husband was not completely on board with hiring a trainer. After our first appointment, he thought it was the best thing we could have done. Gerard came to our home and and explained his philosophy and methods of dog training. One of the things that made an impression on my husband was while he was talking to us he was observing the dogs and their behavior.
Each dog has very different personalities. Gerard was able to hone in on each of their personalities and determine what would work best with each dog. What worked on one dog did not necessarily work on another. Gerard worked with each dog individually as well as in a pack setting. I will say that he did train my husband and me how to work with our dogs. This way we are in control not the dogs.
After each lesson, Gerard let us know what we should work on during the week with our dogs. Daily we would see improvement in their behavior. Even when Gerard is not physically with you he is always available if you need him. He would check in with us to see how the week’s training homework was progressing.

We could not have asked for a better trainer. His friendly, easygoing manner put us and our dogs at ease. Training three dogs at once is not easy but he made it look that way. We understand now that consistency and practice is the key. They are by no means perfect but with consistency, practice and patience they improve each day all thanks to Gerard and the methods he taught us how to use. 

 

Diana S Vail, AZ Vail, AZ January 17, 2017

default image

I want to thank Gerard for the excellent training that has helped me and my dog, Honey. My (adorable shelter) dog had grown very possessive and fearful of other people and dogs causing both her and me stress anytime we ventured out into the public. After our first session and with diligent homework practices, I noticed results within a week. Gerard also worked with our leash walking techniques (walking my dog is a joy again, not a constant battle of wills) and helping us with our first dog park visit. Both my dog and myself are more relaxed in public and at home and I attribute that to the gentle yet authoritative “pack” leader training that Gerard teaches. Gerard was worth every penny and I look forward to my continuing training with my dog and to see how much we can learn and grow together. I am comforted in knowing that I can call, e-mail or meet with Gerard for any additional training or questions that may arise in the future. I highly recommend Gerard!

Natalie J. W. -Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Love Gerard and I'm on a positive road with my 5 month old Jack Russell Phoebe! This is my 3rd Jack and she was kicking my butt! We'd give him more then 5 stars!

Jan H Benson, AZ 6/2017

Jan H June 26, 2017

default image

By the time our dog Buster was 6 months old it was obvious that my wife and I needed assistance with his behavior. We had purchased Buster from a breeder in Missouri, when he was 8 weeks old. The purchase and the delivery were super. He was a beautiful, lively, loveable, and healthy little bundle. As time went on he remained all of these things, but seemed determined to become the alpha animal in the home and everywhere else. He was afraid of nothing and definitely had a mind of his own. He learned simple commands but was pretty choosy when he would comply. Discipline of any kind was something to be challenged. Rolled up newspapers were to be attacked and shredded. Some commands were obeyed only if there was a food reward present. Buster still remained the lovable little guy he had always been but it was definitely on his terms. Outdoor walks were a battle from start to finish. Other dogs and people were something to be rushed at and jumped all over. It had become obvious to us that we were headed in a direction with Buster that could not be continued. I found Gerard Raneri online. Buster’s misbehavior began to change with Gerard’s first visit. Gerard’s methods made sense to both Buster and his owners. Gerard could get Buster to halt his misbehavior and more importantly, he taught us how to deal with it and redirect it. Buster is a joy to walk with. There are times when he still thinks the world is his but he will comply when directed. Life for Buster and his owners is much more pleasant and placid. I think Gerard’s personality, knowledge, and skills combined to accomplish this. I would not hesitate to recommend Gerard Renari to anyone needing help with a pet.

Vern and Mona B. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Gerard has proven to us that you can “teach an old dog new tricks.” We are grateful that the “tools” Gerard gave us to train our 7-year-old Jack Russell Terrier, Katie, made such a big improvement in her behavior in just a month. In just a few short weeks she changed from an aggressive, anti-social, fearful barker to an obedient, calm, friendly, social dog. The change in her has amazed our friends and neighbors. And Katie is enjoying all the extra attention because she is so well-behaved. Thank you, Gerard!

June, Skip & Katie -Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Gerard is a patient, knowledgeable, gentle trainer who can get my dog, Maddie, to do anything. Since I am in a wheelchair, he used innovative and creative ways to train Maddie. He taught her to be able to walk alongside my wheelchair without jumping or getting tangled in the leash. He also trained her not to bark when the doorbell rang, not to jump on people, to walk off leash and to respond when I call her. He did it in a positive, loving way.

Michelle L. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

My shepherd mix, Echo, was having some minor behavioral issues that were beginning to become major issues. Not only did Echo need to be trained but I also needed to be taught how to properly train and handle my dog. Gerard did a wonderful job teach Echo and me to get her behavior under control. Gerard would meet me pretty much where ever and whenever I wanted which made things very easy. I would recommend Gerard to anyone who wants to train their dog.

Ryan - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I adopted a 4 year old German Shepherd Lab back in 2007 and couldn’t believe my luck as “Sadie” was turning out to be the perfect dog: Well behaved, very obedient and incredibly sweet and gentle. Then I took her to the dog park…Turns out she had a serious aggression problem toward other dogs and it became more evident why she was at the pound. As returning her to the pound was not an option for me, I called Gerard, and Sadie and I began working with him immediately. Together, we were able to apply techniques to curb her behavior and creatively manage the loop holes as they became more evident. For example, to remove all risk and to calm my own developing anxieties about ending up on Judge Judy, we added an extra Halti leash to the heavy duty 6 foot cotton leash and then topped it off with a muzzle. That way, throughout the process, if something didn’t go well, everyone remained safe. As I sit typing this, Sadie is politely sharing a rawhide bone with my boyfriend’s black Lab on the living room floor. Thanks to Gerard’s help, we averted the crisis and so far, are coexisting quite happily.

Wendy April 19, 2015

default image

My dog, Ms. Dolittle, was afraid to come up the stairs to my apartment. I had to carry her up the stairs every time we went outside. She is overweight and my back and knees hurt badly. I almost moved to a downstairs apartment and then I found Gerard. It took Gerard two visits before she was going up the stairs and does it every time now. He was the best thing that ever happened in our lives. Thank you for your patience and the love you show in your training.

Jackie F. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

We had tremendous success with Gerard. Within two sessions, the major behavior problems we were having were resolved (barking and pulling on the leash) and we were able to move on to sitting, staying, coming on command and even working off the leash. Gerard was flexible, always working around our schedule and really went the extra mile to get to know our family and our dog to tailor his training to our dog’s specific personality and needs.

Marianne R. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

A few years ago, I rescued a little Boston Terrier in Tucson who was found by a couple of young women who found him wandering around downtown and thought he was a Boxer. A friend from a Tucson Boxer Rescue group brought him to my home. He has been an experience! Charlie had many, many issues, he was distrustful, frightened of everything, aggressive and always moving, never quiet…always on alert. I went the route of obedience and pet training, but nothing was effective, and he was not a very lovable little guy. Then my vet gave me Gerard’s card, this was after an aggressive incident occurred at her office. Calling Gerard’s number was the best move I’d made to that point. From the very first visit, I was encouraged that there was hope for Charlie and me! I learned at the first visit that I had to become more calm and assertive in my actions….growling back at him was certainly a new tool…It’s been a long road, but Charlie has finally become a pleasant roommate, and tries very hard to please me. He is a little fireball, still very intense, is on medication to calm and relax him. I can’t credit Gerard enough, he has been our rock through this whole process. He has gone the extra mile, going to the vet and groomer with us. Always available when we had problems or questions to be dealt with. I feel so good that I know I can be in touch with him at any time and he will always get back to me right away. We would recommend Gerard to anyone who has a dog with issues they don’t know how to deal with. He will be the answer to your prayers! We love you Gerard, thanks.

Charlie and his Mom, Glenna S. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I used Gerard Raneri for my dog Emma last year. We participated in the one-year program. She (and I) had some issues and we needed help. I called a few dog trainers in Tucson and was not given any hope. Emma has aggression issues and had, in the past, bit someone. Her aggression came out of her need to protect me. I was told that either it would cost a lot of money for the help and she would have to stay in a place for 1 month with no visits from me, or she was a hopeless case and could not be helped. This is all from a 3 minute conversation over the phone. I spoke with Gerard and explained what I needed. He was professional and willing to help and we talked for about 30 minutes. He did not rush me off the phone. He did not make me feel like Emma was a hopeless case. Instead he told me he could help us. He came by the house about 4 times in the first 2 months for about an hour each session. And each time he taught me how to teach Emma. I know her issues are my fault. So I needed to let her know that I was in charge and okay and she did not need to protect me all the time. With his help, I have learned how to make her less stressed and worried about me. She still has a bark and lets people know she is there but the difference is in how I react. Thanks to Gerard, I have less fear about taking her into new situations around people. I would recommend his training to anyone who needed help for a “hopeless case.”

Stephanie G. - Tucson July 25, 2015

Working with Gerard was such a great experience for not only our dog but for our whole family! He went above & beyond to make sure we all had the best chance possible for success! I would definitely recommend him to anyone who wants to feel less frustration with your dog & see a positive change in their dog's behavior as well!

 

Cami Dixon McFarland Vail, AZ. June 26, 2017

default image

We are so impressed with Gerard and the training methods he uses. Having a trainer come to our home to work with us and our dogs is priceless. We have tried other training companies and just found that when working in a group setting, we learned a standard set of “tricks.” With Gerard, we get to work on any problems we feel we are having with our dogs, and we get to work at home in our problem environment. Now our home is relaxed and quiet, and our dogs and family are much happier. Thanks for everything!

B. G. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I love how our trainer interacts with our Chihuahua, Nena. Nena is a 7-month-old puppy who displays many puppy behaviors that, as an individual trying to train her on my own, I could not get under control. She still has a long way to go, but in the short time our trainer, Gerard, has been with us, has come to show the proper way of dealing with Nena’s bad behaviors, and has been very patient with my learning of how to properly train Nena. One of our major accomplishments in the short time our trainer has been here is getting Nena to walk down the stairs of our home. From the time we got the dog, she would not go near or even walk down the first step. In one visit, Gerard was able to get Nena to walk down and up the stairs with ease, and she was not afraid of the steps anymore. Our trainer is very personable and always willing to lend a helping hand.

Joe B. - Tucson July 25, 2015

Gerard Raneri: 520-440-8848 | email me
Mailing: 3849 E Broadway Blvd #105, Tucson, AZ 85716
Please include your zip code when emailing us for exact rates.