Home » In-Home Dog Training » Client Testimonials

Client Testimonials

default image

Gerard is a patient, knowledgeable, gentle trainer who can get my dog, Maddie, to do anything. Since I am in a wheelchair, he used innovative and creative ways to train Maddie. He taught her to be able to walk alongside my wheelchair without jumping or getting tangled in the leash. He also trained her not to bark when the doorbell rang, not to jump on people, to walk off leash and to respond when I call her. He did it in a positive, loving way.

Michelle L. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

When we decided to add a dog to our family, we really had no idea just how in over our heads we were about to get. We adopted a young puppy, cute as could be, and quickly fell in love with her. Everything went great until our adorable baby girl had to go potty. She only knew how to go, and we were completely lost on how to teach her where to go. Soon our little girl grew, and with her increased size, the messes she was leaving behind got bigger, too. Holly (our puppy) is a Great Dane, so she really did start leaving big messes all over the house in short order. By the time we had Gerard make his first home visit, we had to ask him to wear plastic bags over his feet to protect himself from any puddles we may have missed! It was completely humiliating. As much as we adored Holly, we were at the brink of giving her away because we simply didn’t know how to train her. Gerard was our last hope. Within 30 minutes Gerard had asked lots of questions to get to know Holly and where we were at with her. He knew exactly what we needed and just how urgent the situation was. The next hour was spent with Gerard showing us how to correctly interact with Holly, in a less confusing way for her, so she would get the message and understand what we wanted of her. He showed us what to do, and then he watched us as we did the same things. Gerard was incredibly patient and never seemed discouraged by our frustrations. It was our surprise to see Holly learn her first basic commands during that initial visit with Gerard. Holly is now 9 ½ months old, weighs about 100 pounds, and while she is still very much a puppy, she is a manageable and a permanent part of our family. She hasn’t had an accident in the house in many months, and she only had a couple after Gerard’s first visit! Even Holly is a happier girl since we have learned how to communicate with her in a good and consistent way. She knows what we want from her, and it makes her proud to fulfill our wishes. It really is thanks to Gerard that we still have Holly. We wouldn’t have made it much longer with the way things were going before he came to our rescue. Now we get all the good out of being dog owners, without all the bad that comes from a poorly trained dog.

Venessia R. - Vail July 25, 2015

default image

Please, visit my FaceBook Reviews. Thank you, Gerard

Facebook Reviews

Gerard Raneri Owner Tucson, AZ June 26, 2017

default image

Gerard was absolutely top-notch working with our Lab Scout. We were amazed with what he could do with an over-exuberant 6-year-old dog. He is extremely knowledgeable, very patient, and clearly adapts his training methods to the individual dog and his/her tendencies, issues and personality. We saw tangible results on Gerard’s first visit with us. We would absolutely recommend Gerard to any of our friends looking for a highly effective dog trainer.

Scott & Kim C. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

My shepherd mix, Echo, was having some minor behavioral issues that were beginning to become major issues. Not only did Echo need to be trained but I also needed to be taught how to properly train and handle my dog. Gerard did a wonderful job teach Echo and me to get her behavior under control. Gerard would meet me pretty much where ever and whenever I wanted which made things very easy. I would recommend Gerard to anyone who wants to train their dog.

Ryan - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I was very happy having Gerard train my dog, Diva. He is patient with me and the dog. He comes up with original ideas for each individual dog and owner. He is responsible, returning calls and answering questions. He always arrived on time for lessons and no matter what problem I was having with my dog, he figured out a way to resolve it.

Kirk S. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I used Gerard Raneri for my dog Emma last year. We participated in the one-year program. She (and I) had some issues and we needed help. I called a few dog trainers in Tucson and was not given any hope. Emma has aggression issues and had, in the past, bit someone. Her aggression came out of her need to protect me. I was told that either it would cost a lot of money for the help and she would have to stay in a place for 1 month with no visits from me, or she was a hopeless case and could not be helped. This is all from a 3 minute conversation over the phone. I spoke with Gerard and explained what I needed. He was professional and willing to help and we talked for about 30 minutes. He did not rush me off the phone. He did not make me feel like Emma was a hopeless case. Instead he told me he could help us. He came by the house about 4 times in the first 2 months for about an hour each session. And each time he taught me how to teach Emma. I know her issues are my fault. So I needed to let her know that I was in charge and okay and she did not need to protect me all the time. With his help, I have learned how to make her less stressed and worried about me. She still has a bark and lets people know she is there but the difference is in how I react. Thanks to Gerard, I have less fear about taking her into new situations around people. I would recommend his training to anyone who needed help for a “hopeless case.”

Stephanie G. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I adopted a 4 year old German Shepherd Lab back in 2007 and couldn’t believe my luck as “Sadie” was turning out to be the perfect dog: Well behaved, very obedient and incredibly sweet and gentle. Then I took her to the dog park…Turns out she had a serious aggression problem toward other dogs and it became more evident why she was at the pound. As returning her to the pound was not an option for me, I called Gerard, and Sadie and I began working with him immediately. Together, we were able to apply techniques to curb her behavior and creatively manage the loop holes as they became more evident. For example, to remove all risk and to calm my own developing anxieties about ending up on Judge Judy, we added an extra Halti leash to the heavy duty 6 foot cotton leash and then topped it off with a muzzle. That way, throughout the process, if something didn’t go well, everyone remained safe. As I sit typing this, Sadie is politely sharing a rawhide bone with my boyfriend’s black Lab on the living room floor. Thanks to Gerard’s help, we averted the crisis and so far, are coexisting quite happily.

Wendy W. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

A few years ago, I rescued a little Boston Terrier in Tucson who was found by a couple of young women who found him wandering around downtown and thought he was a Boxer. A friend from a Tucson Boxer Rescue group brought him to my home. He has been an experience! Charlie had many, many issues, he was distrustful, frightened of everything, aggressive and always moving, never quiet…always on alert. I went the route of obedience and pet training, but nothing was effective, and he was not a very lovable little guy. Then my vet gave me Gerard’s card, this was after an aggressive incident occurred at her office. Calling Gerard’s number was the best move I’d made to that point. From the very first visit, I was encouraged that there was hope for Charlie and me! I learned at the first visit that I had to become more calm and assertive in my actions….growling back at him was certainly a new tool…It’s been a long road, but Charlie has finally become a pleasant roommate, and tries very hard to please me. He is a little fireball, still very intense, is on medication to calm and relax him. I can’t credit Gerard enough, he has been our rock through this whole process. He has gone the extra mile, going to the vet and groomer with us. Always available when we had problems or questions to be dealt with. I feel so good that I know I can be in touch with him at any time and he will always get back to me right away. We would recommend Gerard to anyone who has a dog with issues they don’t know how to deal with. He will be the answer to your prayers! We love you Gerard, thanks.

Charlie and his Mom, Glenna S. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I have a 7 year old rescued dog, Boomer, who had some fearful nipping behavior which started to escalate. I moved from Guam to Tucson, AZ with 4 rescued dogs and a cat and although Boomer is the biggest of the pack, he is the most insecure and fearful. I contacted Gerard and he came to my house to meet Boomer and the pack. With Gerard’s patience and firm, but assertive way of training both me and the dog, I could see a marked change in Boomer’s behavior when walking on a leash as I don’t get pulled into the cacti. We are still working and meeting Gerard as needed, but every time I can see a difference in Boomer and we seem to understand each other better. Gerard’s techniques are wonderful and I will recommend him to all families with dogs with “issues.”

Noni D. - Vail July 25, 2015

default image

Gerard was such a help! My rescue shepherd mix, Penny, is extremely fearful, particularly of men. She also was aggressive towards other dogs. Gerard worked with my dog and gave me tips and tricks to help Penny get over her fear of men. He gave me training exercises to do with Penny and then followed up on each. Each time Gerard came he provided more training exercises. WOW – what a difference! After three lessons, Penny is a much better behaved dog and the aggressiveness to other dogs is almost completely gone. Penny walks better on a leash, obeys commands more readily and is more fun to be around. She is much, much better around men and no longer ducks behind me to hide from them. She may not be enthusiastic about men but at least she isn’t so scared and she gets better every day. Thanks Gerard! 🙂

Pam H. - Tucson July 25, 2015

Working with Gerard was such a great experience for not only our dog but for our whole family! He went above & beyond to make sure we all had the best chance possible for success! I would definitely recommend him to anyone who wants to feel less frustration with your dog & see a positive change in their dog's behavior as well!

 

Cami Dixon McFarland Vail, AZ. June 26, 2017

default image

Gerard has proven to us that you can “teach an old dog new tricks.” We are grateful that the “tools” Gerard gave us to train our 7-year-old Jack Russell Terrier, Katie, made such a big improvement in her behavior in just a month. In just a few short weeks she changed from an aggressive, anti-social, fearful barker to an obedient, calm, friendly, social dog. The change in her has amazed our friends and neighbors. And Katie is enjoying all the extra attention because she is so well-behaved. Thank you, Gerard!

June, Skip & Katie -Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

My dog, Ms. Dolittle, was afraid to come up the stairs to my apartment. I had to carry her up the stairs every time we went outside. She is overweight and my back and knees hurt badly. I almost moved to a downstairs apartment and then I found Gerard. It took Gerard two visits before she was going up the stairs and does it every time now. He was the best thing that ever happened in our lives. Thank you for your patience and the love you show in your training.

Jackie F. - Tucson July 25, 2015

We have three Australian Shepherds (1 is 14 months, 2 are 12 months old) that were out of control.

My husband and I would say “they make you laugh but at the same time you want to cry”. I finally said enough and started looking for dog trainers on the internet. I came across the Dog Training Mobile site and liked what I read about Gerard. I also like the fact that he came to your house and worked with the dogs in their environment. I contacted Gerard and made our first appointment. Now the only thing I had to do was tell my husband I had hired a dog trainer.

Before our first appointment my husband was not completely on board with hiring a trainer. After our first appointment, he thought it was the best thing we could have done. Gerard came to our home and and explained his philosophy and methods of dog training. One of the things that made an impression on my husband was while he was talking to us he was observing the dogs and their behavior.
Each dog has very different personalities. Gerard was able to hone in on each of their personalities and determine what would work best with each dog. What worked on one dog did not necessarily work on another. Gerard worked with each dog individually as well as in a pack setting. I will say that he did train my husband and me how to work with our dogs. This way we are in control not the dogs.
After each lesson, Gerard let us know what we should work on during the week with our dogs. Daily we would see improvement in their behavior. Even when Gerard is not physically with you he is always available if you need him. He would check in with us to see how the week’s training homework was progressing.

We could not have asked for a better trainer. His friendly, easygoing manner put us and our dogs at ease. Training three dogs at once is not easy but he made it look that way. We understand now that consistency and practice is the key. They are by no means perfect but with consistency, practice and patience they improve each day all thanks to Gerard and the methods he taught us how to use. 

 

Diana S Vail, AZ Vail, AZ January 17, 2017

default image

I want to thank Gerard for the excellent training that has helped me and my dog, Honey. My (adorable shelter) dog had grown very possessive and fearful of other people and dogs causing both her and me stress anytime we ventured out into the public. After our first session and with diligent homework practices, I noticed results within a week. Gerard also worked with our leash walking techniques (walking my dog is a joy again, not a constant battle of wills) and helping us with our first dog park visit. Both my dog and myself are more relaxed in public and at home and I attribute that to the gentle yet authoritative “pack” leader training that Gerard teaches. Gerard was worth every penny and I look forward to my continuing training with my dog and to see how much we can learn and grow together. I am comforted in knowing that I can call, e-mail or meet with Gerard for any additional training or questions that may arise in the future. I highly recommend Gerard!

Natalie J. W. -Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Like many rescued dogs, Susie came with temperament problems. When I first brought her home, she barked so much when I was at work that the neighbors complained! She was so excited to wake up every day that she nearly bit my face off with good morning kisses. She ate toilet paper. She jumped up on everyone. When the doorbell rang, she went berserk! She was just plain anxious and needy. . . . I checked out Gerard Raneri and was impressed by his philosophy and testimonials. That night, I called his number and within a short time, he called me back. We talked for quite a while and set up an appointment for the next weekend. After a few sessions with Gerard, Susie is a much happier dog, and I’m a much, much happier mom. After our first session, her barking cut in half. After the second session, it cut in half again. She now sits politely [when the doorbell rings] and waits for me to say ‘okay’ before greeting guests. She used to take me for walks, and now I take her. Within just a few moments’ training, she was heeling. My friends and family have noticed how Susie has calmed down. She still has her moments, but the change is remarkable. I realize that it’s up to me to be the leader. It was so awkward for me to growl and be assertive with Susie, but I knew it was the key to success. ~ I would recommend Gerard to anyone in need of dog training (or people training, which it really is). . . . Thanks, Gerard!

Cary D. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Bindi is doing great. We all enjoyed the training and are so excited and relieved. We ran her through a few more “come” commands and even when she had her babies, she paid attention. A few times I had to advance toward her, immediately she was submissive and came to me. I just can’t wait to see how this will change our family … it already has

Kathy R. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

We had tremendous success with Gerard. Within two sessions, the major behavior problems we were having were resolved (barking and pulling on the leash) and we were able to move on to sitting, staying, coming on command and even working off the leash. Gerard was flexible, always working around our schedule and really went the extra mile to get to know our family and our dog to tailor his training to our dog’s specific personality and needs.

Marianne R. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Love Gerard and I'm on a positive road with my 5 month old Jack Russell Phoebe! This is my 3rd Jack and she was kicking my butt! We'd give him more then 5 stars!

Jan H Benson, AZ 6/2017

Jan H June 26, 2017

Gerard Raneri: 520-440-8848 | email me
Mailing: 3849 E Broadway Blvd #105, Tucson, AZ 85716
Please include your zip code when emailing us for exact rates.