Home » In-Home Dog Training » Client Testimonials

Client Testimonials

default image

I have a 7 year old rescued dog, Boomer, who had some fearful nipping behavior which started to escalate. I moved from Guam to Tucson, AZ with 4 rescued dogs and a cat and although Boomer is the biggest of the pack, he is the most insecure and fearful. I contacted Gerard and he came to my house to meet Boomer and the pack. With Gerard’s patience and firm, but assertive way of training both me and the dog, I could see a marked change in Boomer’s behavior when walking on a leash as I don’t get pulled into the cacti. We are still working and meeting Gerard as needed, but every time I can see a difference in Boomer and we seem to understand each other better. Gerard’s techniques are wonderful and I will recommend him to all families with dogs with “issues.”

Noni D. - Vail July 25, 2015

default image

We are so impressed with Gerard and the training methods he uses. Having a trainer come to our home to work with us and our dogs is priceless. We have tried other training companies and just found that when working in a group setting, we learned a standard set of “tricks.” With Gerard, we get to work on any problems we feel we are having with our dogs, and we get to work at home in our problem environment. Now our home is relaxed and quiet, and our dogs and family are much happier. Thanks for everything!

B. G. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Gerard was absolutely top-notch working with our Lab Scout. We were amazed with what he could do with an over-exuberant 6-year-old dog. He is extremely knowledgeable, very patient, and clearly adapts his training methods to the individual dog and his/her tendencies, issues and personality. We saw tangible results on Gerard’s first visit with us. We would absolutely recommend Gerard to any of our friends looking for a highly effective dog trainer.

Scott & Kim C. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Having worked with Gerard with Dog Training Mobile has been an incredibly pleasant experience. Gerard has so much patience while working with dogs as well as the owners so they understand the basics and how the relationship between dog and owner should be. I have two young Jack Russell's who are completely different dogs after going through the Dog Training Mobile program. They have respect, and a balanced relationship with not only myself but my daughter. The whole dynamic in our house has changed for the better after completing just three sessions with Gerard and learning how to work with our dogs at home. I am forever grateful and would highly recommend the Dog Training Mobile program and Gerard to anyone with four legged furry family members!

Chelsea Peters Vail, AZ June 26, 2017

default image

I want to thank Gerard for the excellent training that has helped me and my dog, Honey. My (adorable shelter) dog had grown very possessive and fearful of other people and dogs causing both her and me stress anytime we ventured out into the public. After our first session and with diligent homework practices, I noticed results within a week. Gerard also worked with our leash walking techniques (walking my dog is a joy again, not a constant battle of wills) and helping us with our first dog park visit. Both my dog and myself are more relaxed in public and at home and I attribute that to the gentle yet authoritative “pack” leader training that Gerard teaches. Gerard was worth every penny and I look forward to my continuing training with my dog and to see how much we can learn and grow together. I am comforted in knowing that I can call, e-mail or meet with Gerard for any additional training or questions that may arise in the future. I highly recommend Gerard!

Natalie J. W. -Tucson July 25, 2015

We have three Australian Shepherds (1 is 14 months, 2 are 12 months old) that were out of control.

My husband and I would say “they make you laugh but at the same time you want to cry”. I finally said enough and started looking for dog trainers on the internet. I came across the Dog Training Mobile site and liked what I read about Gerard. I also like the fact that he came to your house and worked with the dogs in their environment. I contacted Gerard and made our first appointment. Now the only thing I had to do was tell my husband I had hired a dog trainer.

Before our first appointment my husband was not completely on board with hiring a trainer. After our first appointment, he thought it was the best thing we could have done. Gerard came to our home and and explained his philosophy and methods of dog training. One of the things that made an impression on my husband was while he was talking to us he was observing the dogs and their behavior.
Each dog has very different personalities. Gerard was able to hone in on each of their personalities and determine what would work best with each dog. What worked on one dog did not necessarily work on another. Gerard worked with each dog individually as well as in a pack setting. I will say that he did train my husband and me how to work with our dogs. This way we are in control not the dogs.
After each lesson, Gerard let us know what we should work on during the week with our dogs. Daily we would see improvement in their behavior. Even when Gerard is not physically with you he is always available if you need him. He would check in with us to see how the week’s training homework was progressing.

We could not have asked for a better trainer. His friendly, easygoing manner put us and our dogs at ease. Training three dogs at once is not easy but he made it look that way. We understand now that consistency and practice is the key. They are by no means perfect but with consistency, practice and patience they improve each day all thanks to Gerard and the methods he taught us how to use. 


Diana S Vail, AZ Vail, AZ January 17, 2017

default image

I have an older Bassett hound who is a handful. We had just had a baby and my dog Sam’s behavior was getting worse. He had no respect for us and was getting more and more aggressive. I researched a bunch of dog trainers and chose Gerard Raneri. It is the best decision I could of made. Gerard listened to our problems and worked with us on how to help Sam. Sam will be never be the perfectly behaved dog because that’s just not who he is, but with the training techniques we were taught we can all love together happily. My favorite thing about Gerard was how accessible he was. When I emailed him about a serious problem regarding aggression he called me in less than 10 min. He truly cares about animals and helping people.

Christina & Terry - East Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

A few years ago, I rescued a little Boston Terrier in Tucson who was found by a couple of young women who found him wandering around downtown and thought he was a Boxer. A friend from a Tucson Boxer Rescue group brought him to my home. He has been an experience! Charlie had many, many issues, he was distrustful, frightened of everything, aggressive and always moving, never quiet…always on alert. I went the route of obedience and pet training, but nothing was effective, and he was not a very lovable little guy. Then my vet gave me Gerard’s card, this was after an aggressive incident occurred at her office. Calling Gerard’s number was the best move I’d made to that point. From the very first visit, I was encouraged that there was hope for Charlie and me! I learned at the first visit that I had to become more calm and assertive in my actions….growling back at him was certainly a new tool…It’s been a long road, but Charlie has finally become a pleasant roommate, and tries very hard to please me. He is a little fireball, still very intense, is on medication to calm and relax him. I can’t credit Gerard enough, he has been our rock through this whole process. He has gone the extra mile, going to the vet and groomer with us. Always available when we had problems or questions to be dealt with. I feel so good that I know I can be in touch with him at any time and he will always get back to me right away. We would recommend Gerard to anyone who has a dog with issues they don’t know how to deal with. He will be the answer to your prayers! We love you Gerard, thanks.

Charlie and his Mom, Glenna S. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Please, visit my FaceBook Reviews. Thank you, Gerard

Facebook Reviews

Gerard Raneri Owner Tucson, AZ June 26, 2017

default image

My shepherd mix, Echo, was having some minor behavioral issues that were beginning to become major issues. Not only did Echo need to be trained but I also needed to be taught how to properly train and handle my dog. Gerard did a wonderful job teach Echo and me to get her behavior under control. Gerard would meet me pretty much where ever and whenever I wanted which made things very easy. I would recommend Gerard to anyone who wants to train their dog.

Ryan - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Gerard, we can’t thank you enough for taking the time to teach us how to properly train Lucy. You answered all of my questions and made yourself always available if we had any problems. We were very lucky that Lucy, by nature, is a very smart, loving and easy going Goldendoodle pup. After just a few 5 minute sessions a day, she is already responding to all of the commands (and several cool tricks, which have impressed all of our friends, since she is only 6 months old). She still has selective hearing when she is given the command to come, especially while at the park with all of her friends. We will keep working on that one. Thanks again Gerard for getting us off to a great start

Jane S. M. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I love how our trainer interacts with our Chihuahua, Nena. Nena is a 7-month-old puppy who displays many puppy behaviors that, as an individual trying to train her on my own, I could not get under control. She still has a long way to go, but in the short time our trainer, Gerard, has been with us, has come to show the proper way of dealing with Nena’s bad behaviors, and has been very patient with my learning of how to properly train Nena. One of our major accomplishments in the short time our trainer has been here is getting Nena to walk down the stairs of our home. From the time we got the dog, she would not go near or even walk down the first step. In one visit, Gerard was able to get Nena to walk down and up the stairs with ease, and she was not afraid of the steps anymore. Our trainer is very personable and always willing to lend a helping hand.

Joe B. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Bindi is doing great. We all enjoyed the training and are so excited and relieved. We ran her through a few more “come” commands and even when she had her babies, she paid attention. A few times I had to advance toward her, immediately she was submissive and came to me. I just can’t wait to see how this will change our family … it already has

Kathy R. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Love Gerard and I'm on a positive road with my 5 month old Jack Russell Phoebe! This is my 3rd Jack and she was kicking my butt! We'd give him more then 5 stars!

Jan H Benson, AZ 6/2017

Jan H June 26, 2017

default image

We had tremendous success with Gerard. Within two sessions, the major behavior problems we were having were resolved (barking and pulling on the leash) and we were able to move on to sitting, staying, coming on command and even working off the leash. Gerard was flexible, always working around our schedule and really went the extra mile to get to know our family and our dog to tailor his training to our dog’s specific personality and needs.

Marianne R. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I was very happy having Gerard train my dog, Diva. He is patient with me and the dog. He comes up with original ideas for each individual dog and owner. He is responsible, returning calls and answering questions. He always arrived on time for lessons and no matter what problem I was having with my dog, he figured out a way to resolve it.

Kirk S. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I used Gerard Raneri for my dog Emma last year. We participated in the one-year program. She (and I) had some issues and we needed help. I called a few dog trainers in Tucson and was not given any hope. Emma has aggression issues and had, in the past, bit someone. Her aggression came out of her need to protect me. I was told that either it would cost a lot of money for the help and she would have to stay in a place for 1 month with no visits from me, or she was a hopeless case and could not be helped. This is all from a 3 minute conversation over the phone. I spoke with Gerard and explained what I needed. He was professional and willing to help and we talked for about 30 minutes. He did not rush me off the phone. He did not make me feel like Emma was a hopeless case. Instead he told me he could help us. He came by the house about 4 times in the first 2 months for about an hour each session. And each time he taught me how to teach Emma. I know her issues are my fault. So I needed to let her know that I was in charge and okay and she did not need to protect me all the time. With his help, I have learned how to make her less stressed and worried about me. She still has a bark and lets people know she is there but the difference is in how I react. Thanks to Gerard, I have less fear about taking her into new situations around people. I would recommend his training to anyone who needed help for a “hopeless case.”

Stephanie G. - Tucson July 25, 2015

Working with Gerard was such a great experience for not only our dog but for our whole family! He went above & beyond to make sure we all had the best chance possible for success! I would definitely recommend him to anyone who wants to feel less frustration with your dog & see a positive change in their dog's behavior as well!


Cami Dixon McFarland Vail, AZ. June 26, 2017

default image

There are no words to express how happy we are to have Gerard training us to train our dog! We’ve only had two sessions with him so far, but our dog has stopped jumping up on us, stopped jumping on the couch, stopped making messes when we leave, heeling… not only heeling, but WITHOUT A LEASH!, coming on command, and stopped darting off towards other people or dogs. People stop me on our walks almost daily to comment on how well behaved our dog is already! We have been able to develop a way of communicating with our dog. We didn’t have to buy any training equipment or gorge our dog with treats. One of the biggest problems was that she would have anxiety when I left and would soil the carpet (even if she just went and I was only gone for 2 minutes!), but she's doing so much better now! I can now throw away the trash without worrying about cleaning up a mess when I get back! Our dog loves when Gerard comes, she warmed up to him immediately, as did we. The sessions are full of great tips and help with a friendly and laid back feeling. Out of all the training options out there, I am definitely happy we chose Gerard!

Michael and Noelle D. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I called Gerard Reneri because my vet suggested I do so. My dog tried to bit my vet twice. After the 2nd time my Vet said “that’s it” you have to do something to help your dog get over his fear. I emailed Gerard Raneri him and within 15 minutes I received a call back and a follow-up email. I met with him in person to discuss his program. I signed on and after the first lesson my dog showed signs of improving, It’s been two months now and we had one vet visit last week. The vet was so happy! No nipping or growling at all. Gerard is really big on teaching how to be the pack leader. I have to say my dog is 100% better in all areas. Come, sit, stay, walking… Also Sasha (my dog) as for her fear, it’s nearly gone. We still have work to do but it’s almost gone. Gerard is worth the money! Thanks Gerard for the help! You are really good at what you do!

Johnny S. - Tucson July 25, 2015

Gerard Raneri: 520-440-8848 | email me
Mailing: 3849 E Broadway Blvd #105, Tucson, AZ 85716
Please include your zip code when emailing us for exact rates.