Home » In-Home Training » Client Testimonials

Client Testimonials

default image

Gerard is a patient, knowledgeable, gentle trainer who can get my dog, Maddie, to do anything. Since I am in a wheelchair, he used innovative and creative ways to train Maddie. He taught her to be able to walk alongside my wheelchair without jumping or getting tangled in the leash. He also trained her not to bark when the doorbell rang, not to jump on people, to walk off leash and to respond when I call her. He did it in a positive, loving way.

Michelle L. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I have an older Bassett hound who is a handful. We had just had a baby and my dog Sam’s behavior was getting worse. He had no respect for us and was getting more and more aggressive. I researched a bunch of dog trainers and chose Gerard Raneri. It is the best decision I could of made. Gerard listened to our problems and worked with us on how to help Sam. Sam will be never be the perfectly behaved dog because that’s just not who he is, but with the training techniques we were taught we can all love together happily. My favorite thing about Gerard was how accessible he was. When I emailed him about a serious problem regarding aggression he called me in less than 10 min. He truly cares about animals and helping people.

Christina & Terry - East Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I adopted a 4 year old German Shepherd Lab back in 2007 and couldn’t believe my luck as “Sadie” was turning out to be the perfect dog: Well behaved, very obedient and incredibly sweet and gentle. Then I took her to the dog park…Turns out she had a serious aggression problem toward other dogs and it became more evident why she was at the pound. As returning her to the pound was not an option for me, I called Gerard, and Sadie and I began working with him immediately. Together, we were able to apply techniques to curb her behavior and creatively manage the loop holes as they became more evident. For example, to remove all risk and to calm my own developing anxieties about ending up on Judge Judy, we added an extra Halti leash to the heavy duty 6 foot cotton leash and then topped it off with a muzzle. That way, throughout the process, if something didn’t go well, everyone remained safe. As I sit typing this, Sadie is politely sharing a rawhide bone with my boyfriend’s black Lab on the living room floor. Thanks to Gerard’s help, we averted the crisis and so far, are coexisting quite happily.

Wendy W. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

When we decided to add a dog to our family, we really had no idea just how in over our heads we were about to get. We adopted a young puppy, cute as could be, and quickly fell in love with her. Everything went great until our adorable baby girl had to go potty. She only knew how to go, and we were completely lost on how to teach her where to go. Soon our little girl grew, and with her increased size, the messes she was leaving behind got bigger, too. Holly (our puppy) is a Great Dane, so she really did start leaving big messes all over the house in short order. By the time we had Gerard make his first home visit, we had to ask him to wear plastic bags over his feet to protect himself from any puddles we may have missed! It was completely humiliating. As much as we adored Holly, we were at the brink of giving her away because we simply didn’t know how to train her. Gerard was our last hope. Within 30 minutes Gerard had asked lots of questions to get to know Holly and where we were at with her. He knew exactly what we needed and just how urgent the situation was. The next hour was spent with Gerard showing us how to correctly interact with Holly, in a less confusing way for her, so she would get the message and understand what we wanted of her. He showed us what to do, and then he watched us as we did the same things. Gerard was incredibly patient and never seemed discouraged by our frustrations. It was our surprise to see Holly learn her first basic commands during that initial visit with Gerard. Holly is now 9 ½ months old, weighs about 100 pounds, and while she is still very much a puppy, she is a manageable and a permanent part of our family. She hasn’t had an accident in the house in many months, and she only had a couple after Gerard’s first visit! Even Holly is a happier girl since we have learned how to communicate with her in a good and consistent way. She knows what we want from her, and it makes her proud to fulfill our wishes. It really is thanks to Gerard that we still have Holly. We wouldn’t have made it much longer with the way things were going before he came to our rescue. Now we get all the good out of being dog owners, without all the bad that comes from a poorly trained dog.

Venessia R. - Vail July 25, 2015

default image

Bindi is doing great. We all enjoyed the training and are so excited and relieved. We ran her through a few more “come” commands and even when she had her babies, she paid attention. A few times I had to advance toward her, immediately she was submissive and came to me. I just can’t wait to see how this will change our family … it already has

Kathy R. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

We had tremendous success with Gerard. Within two sessions, the major behavior problems we were having were resolved (barking and pulling on the leash) and we were able to move on to sitting, staying, coming on command and even working off the leash. Gerard was flexible, always working around our schedule and really went the extra mile to get to know our family and our dog to tailor his training to our dog’s specific personality and needs.

Marianne R. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

We have a rescue dog, Luci. She is a Shepherd/Doberman mix. When we adopted her she was scared and needed constant reassurance. But she was a love who wanted nothing more than to sit close and get hugs from her family! She also loved playing with other dogs that came to our home. There was never a problem until she was attached by two dogs in our home. Since that time, she became aggressive to other dogs in our neighborhood. After the second time, we knew we needed to find a solution to our problem. We loved Luci so much and wanted our loving dog back! A friend suggested we call Gerard to help --- What a blessing he has been to our family! After only 2 weeks of training US, we made life better for everyone! Gerard helped us understand that we needed to be in charge and show Luci the way! WOW! What a difference. Luci has learned that we are the leaders and she is much happier following us. It is now a pleasure to take our dog out into the neighborhood knowing that she will follow commands and is under control. Thanks is hardly enough to Gerard! We are able to keep our beloved Luci without worrying that she will harm another dog. You would be very lucky to have Gerard help you with your beloved dog!

Donna, Don & Mari - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I would recommend Gerard to anybody with a problematic dog. We have an Australian Shepherd that was unpredictable, snappy, fearful, and generally anxious. This training was well worth the money, and we can now enjoy ourselves with our dog without constantly worrying about him getting out of control in social situations. Thank you!!!

G+G and Bricey (not “Beastly” anymore!) - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Gerard was absolutely top-notch working with our Lab Scout. We were amazed with what he could do with an over-exuberant 6-year-old dog. He is extremely knowledgeable, very patient, and clearly adapts his training methods to the individual dog and his/her tendencies, issues and personality. We saw tangible results on Gerard’s first visit with us. We would absolutely recommend Gerard to any of our friends looking for a highly effective dog trainer.

Scott & Kim C. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

There are no words to express how happy we are to have Gerard training us to train our dog! We’ve only had two sessions with him so far, but our dog has stopped jumping up on us, stopped jumping on the couch, stopped making messes when we leave, heeling… not only heeling, but WITHOUT A LEASH!, coming on command, and stopped darting off towards other people or dogs. People stop me on our walks almost daily to comment on how well behaved our dog is already! We have been able to develop a way of communicating with our dog. We didn’t have to buy any training equipment or gorge our dog with treats. One of the biggest problems was that she would have anxiety when I left and would soil the carpet (even if she just went and I was only gone for 2 minutes!), but she's doing so much better now! I can now throw away the trash without worrying about cleaning up a mess when I get back! Our dog loves when Gerard comes, she warmed up to him immediately, as did we. The sessions are full of great tips and help with a friendly and laid back feeling. Out of all the training options out there, I am definitely happy we chose Gerard!

Michael and Noelle D. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

I called Gerard Reneri because my vet suggested I do so. My dog tried to bit my vet twice. After the 2nd time my Vet said “that’s it” you have to do something to help your dog get over his fear. I emailed Gerard Raneri him and within 15 minutes I received a call back and a follow-up email. I met with him in person to discuss his program. I signed on and after the first lesson my dog showed signs of improving, It’s been two months now and we had one vet visit last week. The vet was so happy! No nipping or growling at all. Gerard is really big on teaching how to be the pack leader. I have to say my dog is 100% better in all areas. Come, sit, stay, walking… Also Sasha (my dog) as for her fear, it’s nearly gone. We still have work to do but it’s almost gone. Gerard is worth the money! Thanks Gerard for the help! You are really good at what you do!

Johnny S. - Tucson July 25, 2015

We have three Australian Shepherds (1 is 14 months, 2 are 12 months old) that were out of control.

My husband and I would say “they make you laugh but at the same time you want to cry”. I finally said enough and started looking for dog trainers on the internet. I came across the Dog Training Mobile site and liked what I read about Gerard. I also like the fact that he came to your house and worked with the dogs in their environment. I contacted Gerard and made our first appointment. Now the only thing I had to do was tell my husband I had hired a dog trainer.

Before our first appointment my husband was not completely on board with hiring a trainer. After our first appointment, he thought it was the best thing we could have done. Gerard came to our home and and explained his philosophy and methods of dog training. One of the things that made an impression on my husband was while he was talking to us he was observing the dogs and their behavior.
Each dog has very different personalities. Gerard was able to hone in on each of their personalities and determine what would work best with each dog. What worked on one dog did not necessarily work on another. Gerard worked with each dog individually as well as in a pack setting. I will say that he did train my husband and me how to work with our dogs. This way we are in control not the dogs.
After each lesson, Gerard let us know what we should work on during the week with our dogs. Daily we would see improvement in their behavior. Even when Gerard is not physically with you he is always available if you need him. He would check in with us to see how the week’s training homework was progressing.

We could not have asked for a better trainer. His friendly, easygoing manner put us and our dogs at ease. Training three dogs at once is not easy but he made it look that way. We understand now that consistency and practice is the key. They are by no means perfect but with consistency, practice and patience they improve each day all thanks to Gerard and the methods he taught us how to use. 

 

Diana S Vail, AZ Vail, AZ January 17, 2017

default image

I have a 7 year old rescued dog, Boomer, who had some fearful nipping behavior which started to escalate. I moved from Guam to Tucson, AZ with 4 rescued dogs and a cat and although Boomer is the biggest of the pack, he is the most insecure and fearful. I contacted Gerard and he came to my house to meet Boomer and the pack. With Gerard’s patience and firm, but assertive way of training both me and the dog, I could see a marked change in Boomer’s behavior when walking on a leash as I don’t get pulled into the cacti. We are still working and meeting Gerard as needed, but every time I can see a difference in Boomer and we seem to understand each other better. Gerard’s techniques are wonderful and I will recommend him to all families with dogs with “issues.”

Noni D. - Vail July 25, 2015

default image

I used Gerard Raneri for my dog Emma last year. We participated in the one-year program. She (and I) had some issues and we needed help. I called a few dog trainers in Tucson and was not given any hope. Emma has aggression issues and had, in the past, bit someone. Her aggression came out of her need to protect me. I was told that either it would cost a lot of money for the help and she would have to stay in a place for 1 month with no visits from me, or she was a hopeless case and could not be helped. This is all from a 3 minute conversation over the phone. I spoke with Gerard and explained what I needed. He was professional and willing to help and we talked for about 30 minutes. He did not rush me off the phone. He did not make me feel like Emma was a hopeless case. Instead he told me he could help us. He came by the house about 4 times in the first 2 months for about an hour each session. And each time he taught me how to teach Emma. I know her issues are my fault. So I needed to let her know that I was in charge and okay and she did not need to protect me all the time. With his help, I have learned how to make her less stressed and worried about me. She still has a bark and lets people know she is there but the difference is in how I react. Thanks to Gerard, I have less fear about taking her into new situations around people. I would recommend his training to anyone who needed help for a “hopeless case.”

Stephanie G. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Love Gerard and I'm on a positive road with my 5 month old Jack Russell Phoebe! This is my 3rd Jack and she was kicking my butt! We'd give him more then 5 stars!

Jan H Benson, AZ 6/2017

Jan H June 26, 2017

default image

Gerard has proven to us that you can “teach an old dog new tricks.” We are grateful that the “tools” Gerard gave us to train our 7-year-old Jack Russell Terrier, Katie, made such a big improvement in her behavior in just a month. In just a few short weeks she changed from an aggressive, anti-social, fearful barker to an obedient, calm, friendly, social dog. The change in her has amazed our friends and neighbors. And Katie is enjoying all the extra attention because she is so well-behaved. Thank you, Gerard!

June, Skip & Katie -Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

By the time our dog Buster was 6 months old it was obvious that my wife and I needed assistance with his behavior. We had purchased Buster from a breeder in Missouri, when he was 8 weeks old. The purchase and the delivery were super. He was a beautiful, lively, loveable, and healthy little bundle. As time went on he remained all of these things, but seemed determined to become the alpha animal in the home and everywhere else. He was afraid of nothing and definitely had a mind of his own. He learned simple commands but was pretty choosy when he would comply. Discipline of any kind was something to be challenged. Rolled up newspapers were to be attacked and shredded. Some commands were obeyed only if there was a food reward present. Buster still remained the lovable little guy he had always been but it was definitely on his terms. Outdoor walks were a battle from start to finish. Other dogs and people were something to be rushed at and jumped all over. It had become obvious to us that we were headed in a direction with Buster that could not be continued. I found Gerard Raneri online. Buster’s misbehavior began to change with Gerard’s first visit. Gerard’s methods made sense to both Buster and his owners. Gerard could get Buster to halt his misbehavior and more importantly, he taught us how to deal with it and redirect it. Buster is a joy to walk with. There are times when he still thinks the world is his but he will comply when directed. Life for Buster and his owners is much more pleasant and placid. I think Gerard’s personality, knowledge, and skills combined to accomplish this. I would not hesitate to recommend Gerard Renari to anyone needing help with a pet.

Vern and Mona B. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

My shepherd mix, Echo, was having some minor behavioral issues that were beginning to become major issues. Not only did Echo need to be trained but I also needed to be taught how to properly train and handle my dog. Gerard did a wonderful job teach Echo and me to get her behavior under control. Gerard would meet me pretty much where ever and whenever I wanted which made things very easy. I would recommend Gerard to anyone who wants to train their dog.

Ryan - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

We are so impressed with Gerard and the training methods he uses. Having a trainer come to our home to work with us and our dogs is priceless. We have tried other training companies and just found that when working in a group setting, we learned a standard set of “tricks.” With Gerard, we get to work on any problems we feel we are having with our dogs, and we get to work at home in our problem environment. Now our home is relaxed and quiet, and our dogs and family are much happier. Thanks for everything!

B. G. - Tucson July 25, 2015

default image

Please, visit my FaceBook Reviews. Thank you, Gerard

Facebook Reviews

Gerard Raneri Owner Tucson, AZ June 26, 2017

Gerard Raneri: 520-440-8848 | email me
Mailing: 3849 E Broadway Blvd #105, Tucson, AZ 85716
Please include your zip code when emailing us for exact rates.